Jammin’ while You Write

While jogging has nothing to do with my blog, it compares to my writing.

How?

When I jog, I brainstorm. I let the images of my imagination burst into the adrenaline giving me the energy to survive the five miles in one hour. I have to admit that the best ideas show themselves when I’m on my feet.

The secret ingredient behind the infinite ideas is music–an entity that allows me create epic movie trailers every four minutes. Each slam of the drum, every strum of the guitar takes a character through a miniature journey which seems to last a lifetime during the small fraction of time given by each song.

I don’t know about the rest of the writers and readers out there, but Video Game and Rock music happens to be the go to sound to bring forth the fantasy world while Hip-Hop pushes the envelop of urban grit. At the end of it all, my mind’s eye stares down this mass universe that I can’t seem to comprehend how I will put it on paper during one lifetime.

To be specific, my playlist consists of music from Koei Tecmo’s Dynasty Warriors, Alter Bridge, T.I., and an assorted list of OCRemix. Each song serves a particular pace. As y’all might have guessed, T.I. and Alter Bridge is responsible for the adrenaline pumping sound that makes my teeth grind and my breath puff like a cartoonish bull.

Dynasty Warriors’ music is for the long haul. I really put my mind through a simulated battle. Sparks become a collection of synapse creating an thick yet smooth air from my lungs to the sweat rolling on my salty skin.

Remixed game music takes me through a fluctuating adventure of breathing. I have to make a decision…Do I explode during something harmonious? I’ll regret it later if I do.

Point is that writing takes me through the same exercise as jogging. As music feeds my ears with organized noise and verses, my fingers fill the page with a sketch, which I eventually fill with inspiration, precision, and consideration. Of course, it’s not healthy to blast the music against the sensitive eardrum, so I take it easy–stop a few cycles–and explode in a barrage of words that can potentially draw the reader into the universe I imagined when I placed the balls of toes on the ground.

Leave a Reply

