Is it too late to learn?

Never!

If there’s life in the body, there is no “too late” to learn. I asked myself this once when I got out of college. I’m sure many shared the same thing, “Got a degree but can’t find the job to use it.” The career bust is a stagnant breath minx staunching the moisture of success on pricks of its tongue. We must deal with it. Despite the clouds, we pray for the bright silver lining. We hope for the trickle of rain against the soil of our aspirations.

To give up is the acceptance of wasteland. Like the Earth, the mind requires us to till and plant the seeds of knowledge.

Whenever I complete story or chapter, I take a small break from writing and turn my attention to building skills. Sites like Youtube host many tutorial videos on how to use the different computing software, cooking tips, etc.

Nothing captured my attention. I was used to storytelling. I knew there was another way to do it. So, I thought about my video game hobby. And one of the ways I could tell a story was through video editing and video effects. I recorded video game footage then edited them into a montage.

I started watching tutorials on Adobe After Effects and Adobe Premiere. The information was overwhelming. The pits of my stomach turned. Regret reminded of all the times I could’ve engaged in something practical.

I worked through it using my video game hobby to keep my mind submerged into learning until I was familiar with the basics of After Effects and Premiere. Once I understood the Adobe Suite, I began using more advanced maneuvers.

I encourage anyone who seeks to learn a new skill, instrument, etc. to venture into the world of information to learn whatever supplements your career or life purpose.

Leave a Reply

