Day 1: Treasure Hoard

I accepted a blog challenge. The  challenge was announced by Write Tribe Festival of Words. Here’s the challenge.

Treasure. To be concrete, what I treasure is the money in the bank. I hold it close memorizing the numbers and hoping to protect it from scammers.  It’s hard earned money and it’s treasure I need. I share that treasure because I’m obligated to. Most of all, I share it because I know there are those I’m connected to that need my treasure. I admit, I’m reluctant when I have to give it up, but it always gives me an unexpected gladness.

Then there’s my heart. I treasure my connections to my faith, my family, and my friends. I hope to guard them like the dragon in Beowulf’s epic poem. Conflict is inevitable. Danger is persistent, misfortune is abundant, and the edge of death is forever sharp. So the real treasure is what I’d give my life for. So what I really treasure is love. The one thing money can’t buy.

 

Leave a Reply

